top of page
  • Writer's pictureSomeTinyCritter

D&D Process Work

Here's some process work I did for my first commission piece!


I started off doing roughs of each character, applying all the features my client described. I arranged the characters in a way that shows their best features. I then went over the roughs using the pencil tool to make the details more clarified for my client, with the addition of a solid colour and an outer stroke so the lines don't all cross over:

My client was happy with the placement of each character and how they looked so far. The only changes needed at this point were to make the gunslinger's gun more amateur and to move his goggles to rest on his head.


The next part of the process was to ink and colour the characters according to the client's descriptions. Before shading and adding detail to their eyes, I sent the inked flats pictured below to my client to make sure I chose the right colours for each character. My client was satisfied overall, but the kenku monk needed brighter plumage, the goliath barbarian had darker grey skin and the tiefling bard's skin is supposed to be more tan.

After applying my client's feedback I started planning where the shading would go by hiding the colour layers and adding blotches of blue in appropriate places. Then in a new layer I used the lasso fill tool to create crisp and sharp shading over the blotches. I added detail to each character's eyes, then put minor highlights into the characters' hair (and plumage for the kenku). Finally, I added a grey rectangle beneath the characters to imply perspective:

The final bit of feedback I received from my client was to change the goliath's eyes from green to grey. You can find the final on my homepage!


(I use Clip Studio Paint EX and a Wacom Cintiq 13HD for all my digital graphic work.)

bottom of page